Société du Terroir de Geer

Welcome to our new website! Here, you can learn more about who we are, get to know our members and explore our products. You’ll also discover how we’re doing our bit for sustainability.

Our mission

At STG, our mission is to bring to market fresh, high-quality potatoes that meet consumers’ expectations – now and in the future. How do we do that? First, we support our farmers throughout the growing season. Then, once the potatoes are harvested, we receive, store and sell them. To keep our customers happy, we offer a wide range of varieties and sizes, with highly flexible logistics arrangements.

Our values

Our cooperative brings together a group of farmers who have been pioneering sustainable potato-growing techniques since the turn of the century. We believe in respect and empowerment for our farmers, and we constantly seek new, more environmentally friendly production and storage methods.

Our priority is to establish long-term relationships with our customers built on trust.

Sustainability

At STG, being sustainable isn’t just a sales pitch – it goes to the very origins of our cooperative. We foster sustainability in three ways:

Social sustainability

In a world of fierce competition and heightened individualism, we could think of nothing better than joining forces to share risks and pool skills and expertise. Being part of a 20-strong cooperative means sharing experiences, working in a warm, friendly environment and achieving a better balance between producers and buyers – all of which motivates our members to constantly improve their methods and produce only the very best.

By selling direct to consumers from the cooperative and diversifying our members’ activities and produce, we’re able to nurture ever closer ties with our home region.

Environmental sustainability

Sustainable farming practices: Our farmers are located in the Hesbaye, the most fertile region of Belgium. Because we have an almost-mythical attachment to our precious land, employing farming methods that are kind on the soil – and on the environment – comes as second nature. All STG members meet GLOBALG.A.P. standards for safe, sustainable production, and some of our farmers also have organic certification. We’re committed to selecting the best plots, using the most-up-date equipment and surrounding ourselves with the best advisers. Fertilisation, irrigation and disease control is managed at plot level, at we play our part in bee conservation through our partnership with BeeOdiversity.

Sustainable storage practices: Our extensive system of solar panels, combined with a centralised refrigerator management system, helps to drastically reduce our electricity use. Our ambitious target is to become fully energy self-sufficient by 2030.

Economic sustainability

By joining forces, we’ve established ourselves as a major supplier of fresh, high-quality potatoes. We work hard to make sure our profits are shared equitably all along the value chain, so that every link in the chain has the resources to invest in modern, innovative means of production that meet the very highest standards.

Our elaborate profit-sharing system has a dual benefit: it encourages our farmers to strive for quality while covering the risks that come with constantly seeking new ways to deliver for our demanding customers and consumers.

Société du Terroir de Geer

Découvrez notre nouveau site internet ! Au travers de nos différentes pages, comprenez qui est STG, rencontrez les agriculteurs de la coopératives et découvrez nos produits et la démarche durable dans laquelle nous nous engageons.

Notre mission

STG s’engage à mettre sur le marché des pommes de terre fraîches de grande qualité. Celles-ci répondent aux attentes des consommateurs d ‘aujourd’hui et de demain. Pour mener cette mission à bien, nous accompagnons les producteurs tout au long de la saison culturale. Ensuite nous réceptionnons et stockons leur production. Enfin nous commercialisons les pommes de terre. Et nous veillons à la satisfaction de nos clients en offrant une large gamme de variétés, de calibres et une grande flexibilité logistique.

Nos valeurs

En créant une coopérative, nous avons fédéré un groupe d’agriculteurs qui furent, dès l’an 2000, des pionniers de la durabilité dans la culture de la pomme de terre. Ceci via un respect et une responsabilisation du producteur, et une recherche perpétuelle de méthodes de production et de stockage respectueuses de l’environnement.

Nous recherchons en priorité à établir avec nos clients une relation de confiance sur le long terme.

La durabilité

A STG, la durabilité est bien plus qu’un argument de vente : elle est l’inspiration première à la source de notre coopérative. Celle-ci repose sur les trois piliers du développement durable :

Pilier social

Dans un monde où la compétition et l’individualisme font rage, que pouvions nous rêver de mieux que de créer un groupe de 20 agriculteurs où les risques sont partagés et les compétences mises en commun. Le partage des expériences, l’ambiance de travail amicale et un meilleur équilibre des rapports entre le producteur et les marchés sont des sources inépuisables pour l’amélioration constante de nos façons de faire et pour notre motivation à produire ce qu’il se fait de mieux.

La vente au détail à la coopérative et la diversification des activités et productions de nos coopérateurs renforcent l’ancrage fort qui lie STG au territoire qui l’a vu naître.

Pilier écologique

Au champ : Conscients de disposer d’un terroir d’exception. En plein cœur de la Hesbaye (région la plus fertile de Belgique), le lien quasi mystique qui nous unit à notre terre ne peut mener qu’à des modes de production respectueux de la terre et de notre environnement. Notre agriculture est qualifiée de RAISONNÉE (cahier de charges GLOBAL GAP) et de BIO chez certains d’entre nous. Nous nous engageons à sélectionner les meilleures parcelles, à utiliser le matériel le plus moderne, à nous entourer des meilleurs conseillers. Suivi à la parcelle de la fertilisation, de l’irrigation et de la gestion des maladies. En collaborant avec la société Beeodiversity, nous participons aussi activement à la préservation des abeilles.

Au stockage : La présence massive de panneaux solaires couplée à un système de gestion unique des frigos réduit considérablement notre consommation électrique. Nous ambitionnons même d’être 100% autonomes en énergie à l’horizon 2030.

Pilier économique

Nous unissons nos forces pour devenir un interlocuteur reconnu sur le créneau de la pomme de terre fraîche de qualité. Et nous nous efforçons à ce que le partage des marges soit équitable tout au long de la filière. Et ceci afin que chaque maillon de la chaîne aie les ressources nécessaires pour investir dans des moyens de production modernes, innovants, répondant aux exigences de qualité les plus élevées.

Un système très élaboré de répartition des marges entre producteurs permet de nous inciter à la qualité tout en couvrant les risques inhérents à la recherche de solutions pour coller aux nombreuses attentes de notre clientèle et du consommateur.